On Nouveau Year's Eve I imported images from my iPhone at USB vers le Windows 11 platform as I did so many times by:
- sélectionner all
- cut
- créer nouveau dossier
- paste
and it a fonctionné. But what I did afterwards was fatal. I pressed Ctrl-Z several times and some times too many. Maintenant the dossier and all images were gone. They were neither to be found dans le bin nor elsewhere sur le Windows système and également not sur le iPhone système.
Who is responsible and where are my images possibly to be found?
[My iOS version is >15 and the Win11 is 21H2.]
Fatal loss of data across OS borders
Re: Fatal loss of data across OS borders
Jamais cut/paste entre media [even sur le same OS].
It leaves no undo, no way back except fichier-scavenging tools or a backup.
As you've discovered to your unfortunate cost, Undo makes the nouveau fichiers vanish [not even move vers le Trash] sans restoring them vers leir original location [which également n'a pas go vers le Trash].
C'est un terrible yet long-lived design flaw dans le OS.
As to 'who is responsible'… I'd lay that squarely at the feet of Microsoft for allowing you to do it dans le first place. macOS [& as far as I'm aware, nix,] have no equivalent command. The closest equivalent is 'move' which completes a copy ensuite deletes the original - both of which are ensuite undoable.*
As you ne peut pas fichier-scavenge on iOS, that leaves a Windows tool as your recovery option. Assurez-vous to save any fichiers rescued to a nouveau drive or you risk further overwriting your recovery attempt & avoid using your drive until recovery is complete. [Recover shift-deleted file in Windows](https://superuser.com/questions/283000/recover-shift-deleted-file-in-windows) has some suggestions for recovery tools.
**Après comments*
I've just tested Apple's 'move' to & from a removable drive. If Undo n'est pas possible [drive unmounted], it will either grey out the menu item or start but ensuite erreur sans completing [depending on which way the fichier was transferred]. In short, it will not let you accidentally Undo the write unless it can be fully undone on both drives.
I've également just tested this on Win10. It également ne allow the Undo si le original removable disk is manquant.
This would seem to be the wanted situation, preventing the old 'broken' undo from deleting fichiers. I definitely recall this happening dans le past, but c'est been many years depuis J'ai utilisé Windows frequently, so idk if c'est a recent change, a utilisateur setting, or whether c'est just possible to easily confuse it.
It leaves no undo, no way back except fichier-scavenging tools or a backup.
As you've discovered to your unfortunate cost, Undo makes the nouveau fichiers vanish [not even move vers le Trash] sans restoring them vers leir original location [which également n'a pas go vers le Trash].
C'est un terrible yet long-lived design flaw dans le OS.
As to 'who is responsible'… I'd lay that squarely at the feet of Microsoft for allowing you to do it dans le first place. macOS [& as far as I'm aware, nix,] have no equivalent command. The closest equivalent is 'move' which completes a copy ensuite deletes the original - both of which are ensuite undoable.*
As you ne peut pas fichier-scavenge on iOS, that leaves a Windows tool as your recovery option. Assurez-vous to save any fichiers rescued to a nouveau drive or you risk further overwriting your recovery attempt & avoid using your drive until recovery is complete. [Recover shift-deleted file in Windows](https://superuser.com/questions/283000/recover-shift-deleted-file-in-windows) has some suggestions for recovery tools.
**Après comments*
I've just tested Apple's 'move' to & from a removable drive. If Undo n'est pas possible [drive unmounted], it will either grey out the menu item or start but ensuite erreur sans completing [depending on which way the fichier was transferred]. In short, it will not let you accidentally Undo the write unless it can be fully undone on both drives.
I've également just tested this on Win10. It également ne allow the Undo si le original removable disk is manquant.
This would seem to be the wanted situation, preventing the old 'broken' undo from deleting fichiers. I definitely recall this happening dans le past, but c'est been many years depuis J'ai utilisé Windows frequently, so idk if c'est a recent change, a utilisateur setting, or whether c'est just possible to easily confuse it.